Why Command-and-Control Leadership Is Here to Stay – HBR

I liked this article, but I would caution those readers who might see this only for a face value of not updating their leadership to today’s world, needs and challenges.

Excerpt:  My friends who study advertising as both a reflection and shaper of cultural norms would not disagree with my impression: We talk about the death of command and control leadership, and praise the rise of a new, more collaborative, breed of leader. But when push comes to shove, being in control sells. Collaborative is vegan; directive is meat and potatoes.

When I was a PhD student at Yale, I studied with one of the fathers of situational leadership, Victor Vroom.

Read full article via Why Command-and-Control Leadership Is Here to Stay – Herminia Ibarra – Harvard Business Review.

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership, Operations & Innovation

One response to “Why Command-and-Control Leadership Is Here to Stay – HBR

  1. Pingback: Homepage